Do you have everything you need for the flight?

I remember a training flight with a student that I flew with and we were trying to meet one of the cross country flight requirements towards a commercial rating. 

I usually have everything that I need.  It could be anything from the basic pilot items like the Current Aeronautical Chart for the area that you intend to fly in, a headset(that works) for you and the passenger(s), a flash light for preflight inspections and post flight inspections regardless of day or night and the list goes on and on.

Well, that’s probably good enough, right? So, what did my student do? He didn’t come with anything except for the following:

  1. his iPhone and his wallet and his car keys;
  2. a Garmin GPS (with no extra battery nor auxiliary/external power unit);
  3. information about when the restaurant on Montgomery Field (MYF) closes.

The entire flight actually came out to be a very good flight. We learned that back in those days, if you had a cellular phone with an area code New York for example, and called 1-800-WX-BRIEF from it in San Diego, you get to talk to some body in New York giving you weather for San Diego.  I’m sorry if I’m wrong, but no worries anymore!  It’s FIXED!

We learned that the GPS is a great aid for flying, but when the battery dies during the day time, it’s not too bad.  But for some reason, if you lose the battery during night-time, you get really worried for about a second or two. But eventually, figure out that a chart works good enough.

We learned how weather can change along the shore before you walk into a restaurant to have dinner to the time that you walk out of the restaurant. And I also learned that the “Get-There-itis” is true.  We modified our route of flight, airspeed and therefore the ETA not based on the aircraft performance, weather, and ATC like we had planned; but based on making sure that we get to the restaurant before they take “last orders.”

There was a list of things that came up in my mind during the flight, that I didn’t need at that time but wished I had in case I do need it. I wish I had noted it as I thought of it.  Because the only thing that I can remember, today are “the DOORS”.

By Editor

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

